This page of Simcoe North voter information is provided for the assistance of all residents. We encourage you to get out and vote. Elections Canada provides a number of options for voting. For more information on how to vote, visit the Elections Canada web site:

Simcoe North Elections Canada Offices

Midland:       778 Yonge Street, Suite 3 Midland, ON, L4R 2E6

  1866-466- 0379

Orillia:            4-70 Front Street North, Suite 2-4 Orillia, ON, L3V 4R8


Election Day

Monday October 21

Polls are open from 9:30 AM to 9:30 PM

Advance Poll Days

  • Friday October 11
  • Saturday October 12
  • Sunday October 13
  • Monday October 14

The criteria for voting in the 2019 federal election is pretty simple: to register and vote in a federal election, you must be a Canadian citizen aged 18 or older on election day and provide accepted proof of identity and address.

Boundaries description
Consisting of that part of the County of Simcoe comprised of:
(i) the townships of Ramara, Severn, Tay and Tiny;
(ii) the towns of Midland and Penetanguishene;
(iii) Christian Island Indian Reserve No. 30, Christian Island Indian Reserve No. 30A and Mnjikaning First Nation (Rama First Nation) Indian Reserve No. 32;
(iv) that part of the Township of Oro-Medonte lying northeasterly of a line described as follows: commencing at the intersection of the northwesterly limit of said township with 9 Line North; thence southeasterly along said line to Moonstone Road East; thence northeasterly along said road to 9 Line North; thence generally southeasterly along said line to Horseshoe Valley Road East; thence northeasterly along said road to 9 Line North; thence southeasterly along said line, its intermittent production, 9 Line South and its southeasterly production to the southerly limit of said township; and
(b) the City of Orillia.

Elections Canada takes many steps to keep voter registration information for millions of Canadians accurate and up-to-date, as well as to safeguard the integrity of voter registrations. Voter registration information is managed using the National Register of Electors — a permanent database of Canadians who are eligible to vote in federal elections, byelections and referendums.

Elections Canada mails voter registration notification letters to people who may be eligible to vote, but who are not registered. Those letters are mailed a few times a year, mostly outside election periods, to invite people to register.

About three weeks before election day, Elections Canada mails personalized voter information cards to registered electors. The card tells them that they are registered to vote. It also tells them when and where to vote, the different ways they can vote, and how to get more information.

A brief description of the responsibilities and powers of Canada’s federal government

Canadians head to the polls to cast their ballots in the 2019 federal election Oct. 21.

In advance of the vote, here’s a primer on the different levels of government and for what they are responsible.

• There are three levels of government in Canada: municipal, provincial and federal.

• Based in Ottawa, the federal government plays a huge role in Canadians’ lives — from the collection of taxes to the delivery of social services, and from the supervision of international trade to the safeguarding of national security.

• The federal level of government deals with areas of law listed in the Constitution Act, 1867 and that generally affect the whole country.

• Everything that isn’t specifically named as the purview of the lower tier government is the responsibility of the federal government.

• Education funding, health care services and some environmental regulations are dealt with at the provincial level.

• Municipalities are responsible for roads, garbage pickup, building codes and libraries, among other services.

• The federal government manages a number of national portfolios — responsibilities include mail, taxation, railways, pipelines, the census, criminal law, national defence, Aboriginal rights and foreign affairs.